KEEP IT LIT

I forever pondered,
The path I chose,
Tried to distill the colours,
That filled my infinite space.

My never ending hallucinations,
Kept me knitted to this world,
Of sorrow and dilemma fenced,
Which might never be cleansed.

I tried to calculate my past,
With no triumph or satisfaction,
Pictured my future with intent,
I saw no end to this madness.

All I saw clearly was the present,
An unbreakable wall of silent torture.
I breathed a sigh of fearful relief,
When I realized I was not alone.

But one thing I am sure of.
We all had plans and dreams,
Everything came to a standstill,
When a tiny virus roamed free.

Keep the light inside you awake,
Kindle it with your immaterial hand,
Then none can shut it off,
With dark material hands.

© Joylean Anna Kingston

Hope your hearts are soothed by this poem

2 thoughts on “KEEP IT LIT

Leave a comment